Proudly Serving West Texas
Free Consultation
DWI Dedicated to the Satisfaction of Our Clients

Abilene & San Angelo DWI Attorney

Facing Drunk Driving Charges in Texas?

Thousands of drunk driving tickets are given out every year in Texas. Most of the time, people feel like they have no option but to submit to the opinion of the arresting officer and put themselves at the mercy of the court. This is simply not true. But you must act quickly. It is key to retain an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible. Our Abilene and San Angelo DWI lawyer, David M. White, can help you discover and utilize your options—ensuring that you are treated fairly by the court.

If you are arrested for DWI, you may be asking yourself the following questions:

  • Will I go to jail?
  • Will I lose my driver’s license?
  • What kind of fines am I going to have to pay?
  • Is this going to affect my current or future employment?
  • How much will my insurance increase?

The answers to these questions depend on how you are charged, and on the outcome of your case. It is important to seek legal advice to get the best results, given your circumstances. If this is not your first DUI/DWI offense, don’t wait to contact an attorney, because you stand to lose much more than a first-time offender.

For a no-cost consultation at our offices in San Angelo and Abilene, call us at (325) 221-4421 or contact us online.

What Happens After receiving a DWI?

If you are being charged with your first DWI, it is important that you do not plead guilty and accept the prosecution’s first deal. You could be facing the loss of your license and extensive licensing fines in the years to come. An attorney can help you plead down your first DWI charge or assist you in getting an occupational license so you can still get to work after your license has been suspended.

What to expect when arrested for DWI:

  • You only have 15 days from your DWI arrest to keep your driver’s license from being suspended.
  • You are NOT automatically guilty because you took a breath or blood test.
  • If your license is suspended, we can get you an occupational driver’s license that will give you the right to drive.
  • There is an art to defending DWI cases.
  • If you are convicted of two or more DWI offenses, you face mandatory jail time. There is no time limit on when the second DWI may occur. Even if your first drunk driving conviction was when you were young and in college, you could still be facing felony charges and jail time if you repeat your mistake 30 years later.

DWI License Suspension

The first issue you will face after receiving a DWI is your Notice of Suspension. Local law enforcement usually leaves a copy of this notice for you at the jail. The original notice is then submitted to DPS. This is called an Administrative License Revocation (ALR). If you call us within 15 days of your arrest, we will file an ALR appeal for you at no additional charge (i.e. fight your license suspension).

The potential periods of suspension are as follows:

  • Breath or Blood Test Refusal – 180 days
  • Breath or Blood Test Failure – 90 days
  • Longer suspension periods may apply if you have prior ALR contacts

Field Sobriety Tests

If you are pulled over in Abilene or San Angelo for a DUI, the officer is likely going to perform a field sobriety test to determine if you are under the influence of alcohol. The Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) is made of up 3 individual tests:

  • Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test - In this test the officer will observe the eyes of the person in question as they slowly move a pen or small object back and forth to look for indicators in each eye that the person is impaired.
  • Walk-and-turn test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to take nine steps, touching heel-to-toe in a straight line and the return back. The officer is looking for indicators that the person is impaired such as not being able to keep their balance or not following the instructions properly.
  • One-leg stand test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to stand with one foot off the ground and hold it for about 30 seconds or until told to put it down. The officer looks for signs of impairment such as swaying, hoping or using their arms to balance.

Contact An Experienced DWI Attorney

Contact the Abilene and San Angelo DWI defense lawyer at the Law Offices of David M. White at (325) 221-4421, or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation. Our office in Abilene is located convenient to I-20. We are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Evening and weekend appointments are available.

What Sets Us Apart

  • Free Consultations

    Our firm offers free consultations.  For prompt and professional legal service, contact us today.

  • We Understand

    We know the importance of your case and the impact it can have on your future. We are here to help.

  • Se Habla Español

    Our dedicated staff is able to assist any Spanish-speaking clients who are in need of our services.

  • Client-Centered

    We are dedicated to obtaining superior results as well as providing top-notch customer service.

Start Your Defense Today

Schedule Your Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.